UtilityAPI is founded on the belief that your utility data belongs to you. You can choose to authorize data sharing, and you can revoke that authorization at any time. Visit our DataGuard page for complete privacy information.
How to revoke an authorization, and other actions you can take online
Use the link on the emailed receipt sent to you when you first authorized data sharing. These actions are easy and immediate, no questions asked, no phone calls or emails needed:
If you can’t find your emailed receipt of authorization, or if you have any questions, you can always email firstname.lastname@example.org. Optional but helpful information to include in your email: your utility service address, and the name of the company/ies you authorized.
What happens when you revoke an authorization to share data
When you revoke an authorization, UtilityAPI instantly
- forgets any login credentials you have shared
- clears your data from all meters, and
- deletes all bills and intervals associated with your authorization.
What if the company you authorized has already downloaded the data?
If the company/ies you authorized downloaded the data before you revoked your authorization, you’ll need to contact them directly to ask them to delete your data as well.
Article is closed for comments.